Anzeigen und Sammlungen

Bereichern Sie Ihren Besuch

Viele Künstler besuchen Alcatraz Island jedes Jahr mit Ausstellungen, die die Interpretation der Herausforderungen des Lebens auf der Insel zeigen. Diese Künstler präsentieren Arbeiten zu Themen wie Internierung, Freiheit, Integration in die Gesellschaft, etc. In den Jahren 2014 und 2015 besuchte der chinesische Künstler Ai Weiwei die Insel für acht Monate und zeigte seine Sichtweise auf Menschenrechte, politische Gefangene und Meinungsfreiheit, die weit darüber hinausgeht. Alcatraz Island. Im Jahr 2019 wurden Future IDs bei der Alcatraz Kunstwerke stellten individuelle Geschichten der Transformation dar.

Videos rund um Alcatraz

" :AlcatrazGeschichten aus dem Fels"

Gebäude 64 Theater (50 Meter von der Straße entfernt) Alcatraz Island Dock)

17-minütige Video-Präsentation über die 200-jährige Geschichte der Insel

“Alcatraz: Stories From the Rock" nimmt die Besucher mit auf eine Reise durch die vielen Kapitel der Insel; ihre frühe Rolle als militärische Festung, die berühmten Jahre des Bundesgefängnisses, die indische Besatzung, die den Lauf der Geschichte verändert hat, und schließlich das beliebte National Recreation Areaund wildlebende Schutzgebiet. Alcatraz Island ist heute.

Alcatraz Island steht als ein starkes Symbol für Entschlossenheit und Veränderung. Der vom Discovery Channel produzierte Film untersucht die folgenden Aspekte Alcatraz zu Beginn, so wie es sich entwickelt hat, und so wie es heute steht, eine unglaubliche Zeitkapsel aus Geschichte und menschlichem Drama.

Dieses Video wird alle 30 Minuten gezeigt. Für hörgeschädigte Besucher ist das Video mit offenen Untertiteln versehen; es ist auch auf Spanisch untertitelt.

" Wir halten den Stein fest"

China Allee

Der Beruf des Alcatraz Island von 1969 bis 1971 von "Indianern aller Stämme" den Kurs der US-amerikanischen und indianischen Bürgerrechte verändert und die weltweite Aufmerksamkeit auf die Notlage der Indianer gelenkt. Das preisgekrönte Video/Ausstellung "WE HOLD THE ROCK", produziert von der National Park Serviceund dem Golden GateNational Parks Conservancy, wird kontinuierlich im Ausstellungsbereich hinter dem Haupttheater China Alley gezeigt.

Displays rund um Alcatraz

Alcatraz Landing Interpretations-Programm

Pier 33 AlcatrazLandung

Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie vor oder nach Ihrer Reise auf die Insel einen Spaziergang durch die Stationen rund um das Landegebiet unternehmen, einschließlich eines maßstabsgetreuen Modells von Alcatraz Island, Bürgerkriegskanone, und Geschichten, die die vielen Facetten des Lebens auf der Insel beschreiben.

Skip to main content

Special Events & Exhibits

Expand Your View

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

Ticket Quantity

Displays And Collections

Enrich Your Visit

Many artists visit Alcatraz Island each year, bringing with them exhibits that showcase interpretation of life’s challenges on the Island. These artists present works with themes such as internment, freedom, integrating with society, etc. In 2014 and 2015, Chinese artist Ai Weiwei’s work visited the Island for eight months showcasing his perspective on human rights, political prisoners and freedom of expression that resonate far beyond Alcatraz Island.

Videos Around Alcatraz

“Alcatraz: Stories From the Rock”

Building 64 Theater (50 yards up the road from the Alcatraz Island dock)place holder

17-minute video presentation of the Island’s 200 year history

“Alcatraz: Stories From the Rock” takes visitors on a journey through the Island’s many chapters; its early role as a military fortress, the famous federal penitentiary years, the Indian Occupation that altered the course of history, and finally the popular National Recreation Area and wildlife refuge Alcatraz Island is today.

Alcatraz Island stands as a powerful symbol of resolve and change. The film, produced by the Discovery Channel, explores Alcatraz at its beginning, as it evolved, and as it stands today, an incredible time capsule of history and human drama.

This video is shown every 30 minutes. For hearing impaired visitors, the video is open captioned; it is also subtitled in Spanish.

“We Hold the Rock”

China Alleyplace holder

The occupation of Alcatraz Island from 1969 to 1971 by “Indians of All Tribes” changed the course of U.S. and American Indian civil rights and brought worldwide attention to the plight of American Indians. The award winning video/exhibit, “WE HOLD THE ROCK,” produced by the National Park Service and the Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy, is shown continually in the exhibit area behind the main theater known as China Alley.

Displays Around Alcatraz

Alcatraz Landing Interpretive Program

Pier 33 Alcatraz Landingplace holder

Before or after your trip to the Island, be sure to walk the stations positioned around the Landing area, including a scale model of Alcatraz Island, civil war cannon, and stories detailing the many facets of life on the Island.

“Alcatraz and the American Prison Experience”

Alcatraz Islandplace holder

“Alcatraz and the American Prison Experience,” is a major interpretive exhibit, which explains the place of Alcatraz in the evolution of prisons in America from Colonial days to the present. Interesting artifacts from uniforms, to weapons, to products made by inmates, are on display. Produced in partnership with the Federal Bureau of Prisons, the exhibit also looks at family life on Alcatraz as well as trends in American penology. The exhibit is housed in two historic fortress storerooms in China Alley, the exhibit area behind the main theatre in Building 64.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest