跳到主要内容

探索花园 Alcatraz Island

了解花园背后的历史 Alcatraz

管理您的预订

Alcatraz Island 花园

"岩石"的柔和的一面

从军队到监狱时代,植物软化了"岩石"为那些谁调用 Alcatraz Island 家。通过园艺,岛上居民在一个专注于防御、惩罚和禁闭的地方创造了美丽。卫兵的家人在花园里享受茶会,园艺成了一种受欢迎的消遣。对于值得信赖的囚犯来说,花园是逃避日常生活的。即使在今天,欣欣向荣的花园也与阴郁的监狱形成鲜明对比。

1963年监狱关闭后,许多植物安然无存地存活了几十年。这些幸存者是湾区或其他类似地中海气候的园丁的绝佳选择。自 2003 年以来, Golden Gate 国家公园保护协会一直与 National Park Service 恢复这些美妙的花园,并与游客分享他们的故事。

加入一个花园点,近距离看看修复的历史花园 Alcatraz .了解"岩石"的柔和的一面,以及花园如何让贫瘠岛屿的居民能够容忍生活。旅游离开 Alcatraz 每周五和周日上午 9:45 停靠。花园不收取额外费用。 Alcatraz 旅游。要参加历史悠久的花园之旅,请购买上午 8:45 或上午 9:10 旅游出发的门票。

欲知更多详情,请访问 Alcatraz .

官员行中的历史花园 Alcatraz Island
白色百合上 Alcatraz Island
官员行中的历史花园 Alcatraz Island
Twitter 因斯塔格拉姆 Youtube 谷歌加号 Facebook Flickr plicent

Skip to main content

Explore The Gardens Of Alcatraz Island

Learn All About The History Behind The Gardens Of Alcatraz

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

Alcatraz Island Gardens

The Softer Side Of “The Rock”

From the military to the penitentiary era, plants softened “The Rock” for those who called Alcatraz Island home. Through gardening, Island residents created beauty in a place focused on defense, punishment, and confinement. The families of the guards enjoyed tea parties in the gardens, and gardening became a welcome pastime. For trusted inmates, the gardens were an escape from daily prison life. Even today, the thriving gardens are a stark contrast to the somber prison.

After closure of the prison in 1963, many plants survived decades without care. These survivors are excellent choices for gardeners in the Bay Area or other similar Mediterranean climates. Since 2003, The Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy has been working hand in hand with the National Park Service to restore these wonderful gardens and to share their stories with visitors.

Join a garden docent for an up-close look at the restored historic gardens of Alcatraz. Learn about the softer side of “The Rock” and how gardens made life tolerable for residents of the barren Island. Tours leave the Alcatraz dock at 9:45AM every Friday and Sunday. There is no additional charge for the Gardens of Alcatraz tour. In order to participate in historic garden tours, please purchase tickets for the 8:45AM or 9:10AM tour departures.

For more detailed information visit the Gardens of Alcatraz.

alcatraz historic gardens
alcatraz historic gardens
twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest