堡垒历史

内战期间美国最大的堡垒
1775年8月5日,西班牙中尉胡安·曼努埃尔·德阿亚拉驾驶他的船驶入旧金山湾,花了几周时间绘制港口图。在调查中,他描述了一个岩石,贫瘠的岛屿,并命名为"洛斯阿尔卡特莱斯岛"(海鸟岛)。历史学家争论阿亚拉岛实际选址,但最终的名字被赋予了22英亩的岩石今天被称为 Alcatraz .

1848 年 2 月 2 日,加州在与墨西哥的条约中成为美国的领地,结束了墨西哥战争。一周前的1月24日,在内华达山脉的山脚下发现了黄金。三年内,随着淘金者涌入加州,旧金山的人口将从大约500人激增至35,000多人。

到1850年,淘金热达到鼎盛时期,加州被接纳为联邦第30个州。 Alcatraz 1850 年 11 月 6 日,总统下令保留其他几个海湾群岛,用于"公共目的"。

数以百计的船只在淘金热期间驶向旧金山,沿着危险的加利福尼亚海岸线失事。美国西海岸的第一座灯塔建在 Alcatraz 引导船只安全进入旧金山湾灯塔于1854年6月1日投入使用。

美国陆军意识到旧金山湾容易受到敌人的攻击,用战略电池加固了港口入口,包括一个要塞。 Alcatraz Island .该要约于 1859 年 12 月竣工。美国内战期间(1861-1865年) Alcatraz 成为密西西比河以西最大的美国要堡

军队开始发送士兵罪犯到 Alcatraz 1860年初的要堡。在接下来的四十年里,该岛逐渐成为防御工事,作为监狱更为重要。美国陆军拆除了该要塞的枪支,并在1907年正式指定 Alcatraz 作为军事监狱

1915年,军队将该岛更名为"美国纪律兵营太平洋分会"——一座监狱,关押着接受惩罚和再培训的士兵。军队囚犯在岛上建造了大部分建筑物。这将是该岛的最后军事角色,直到最后一名士兵在1933年离开。

Skip to main content

Military Fortress

How It All Began

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

Ticket Quantity

Fortress History

The Largest American Fort During The Civil War

On August 5, 1775, Spanish Lt. Juan Manuel de Ayala sailed his ship into San Francisco Bay and spent several weeks charting the harbor. During his surveys he described a rocky, barren Island and named it “La Isla de Los Alcatraces” (Island of the Sea Birds). Historians debate which Island Ayala actually sited, but the name eventually was given to the 22 acre rock today called Alcatraz.

California became a possession of the United States on February 2, 1848 in a treaty with Mexico that ended the Mexican War. A week earlier, on January 24th, gold had been discovered in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Within three years, the population of San Francisco would explode from around 500 to more than 35,000 as gold seekers poured into California.

first lighthouse on Alcatraz Island | Alcatraz as a Military Prison
Alcatraz as a Military Prison

By 1850 the Gold Rush was at its height, and California was admitted as the thirtieth state in the Union. Alcatraz and several other bay Islands were reserved “for public purposes” by presidential order on November 6, 1850.

Hundreds of ships, headed for San Francisco during the Gold Rush, wrecked along the dangerous California coastline. The first lighthouse on the West Coast of the United States was built on Alcatraz to guide ships safely into San Francisco Bay. The lighthouse went into service on June 1, 1854.

The U.S. Army, realizing San Francisco Bay was vulnerable to enemy attack, fortified the harbor entrance with strategic batteries including a fort on Alcatraz Island. The fort was completed in December 1859. During the American Civil War (1861–1865) Alcatraz became the largest American fort west of the Mississippi River.

The army began sending soldier-convicts to the Alcatraz fort in early 1860. Over the next forty years, the Island gradually became obsolete as a fortification and more important as a prison. The U.S. Army removed the fort’s guns and in 1907 formally designated Alcatraz as a Military Prison.

The army renamed the Island in 1915 as “Pacific Branch, U.S. Disciplinary Barracks”—a prison for soldiers undergoing punishment and retraining. Army prisoners built most of the buildings on the Island. This would be the final military role for the Island until the last soldiers departed in 1933.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest