تاريخ الحصن

أكبر حصن أمريكي خلال الحرب الاهليه
في 5 أغسطس 1775 ، أبحر الملازم الاسباني خوان مانويل دي ايالا سفينته إلى خليج سان فرانسيسكو وامضي عده أسابيع في رسم الميناء. وخلال استطلاعاته وصف جزيرة صخرية قاحله وسميها "La Isla de Los Alcatraces" (جزيرة الطيور البحرية). المؤرخون المناظرة التي جزيرة ايالا فعلا ، ولكن اعطي اسم في نهاية المطاف إلى الصخرة 22 فدان يسمي اليوم Alcatraz .

كاليفورنيا أصبح امتلاك من الولايات المتحدة الامريكيه في فبراير-شباط 2, 1848 في معاهده مع مكسيك ان ينهي الحرب مكسيكية. وقبل أسبوع ، في 24 يناير ، تم اكتشاف الذهب في سفوح جبال سييرا نيفادا. في غضون ثلاث سنوات ، سوف تنفجر سكان سان فرانسيسكو من حوالي 500 إلى أكثر من 35,000 كما تدفقت الباحثين عن الذهب إلى كاليفورنيا.

ب1850 كان الاندفاع ذهبيه في ارتفاعه, وكاليفورنيا كان قبلت كالدولة ثلاثون في الاتحاد. Alcatraz والعديد من جزر الخليج الأخرى كانت محجوزه "للأغراض العامة" بامر رئاسي في 6 نوفمبر 1850.

مئات السفن ، التي اتجهت إلى سان فرانسيسكو خلال الاندفاع الذهب ، ودمرت علي طول الساحل كاليفورنيا خطيره. بنيت المنارة اولي علي الساحل غربيه من الولايات المتحدة الامريكيه كان علي Alcatraz لتوجيه السفن بأمان إلى خليج سان فرانسيسكو. ذهب المنارة داخل خدمه في يونيو-حزيران 1, 1854.

الجيش الأمريكي ، تحقيق خليج سان فرانسيسكو كان عرضه للهجوم العدو ، المحصنة مدخل الميناء مع البطاريات الاستراتيجية بما في ذلك حصن علي Alcatraz Island . تم الانتهاء من الحصن في ديسمبر 1859. خلال الحرب الاهليه الامريكيه (1861 – 1865) Alcatraz أصبح الحصن كبيره امريكيه غربيه من ميسيسبي نهر.

بدا الجيش إرسال الجنود المدانين إلى Alcatraz حصن في بداية 1860. علي مدي السنوات 40 القادمة ، أصبحت الجزيرة تدريجيا عفا عليها الزمن كاغناء وأكثر اهميه كسجن. أزال الجيش الأمريكي البنادق الحصن وفي 1907 رسميا المعين Alcatraz كسجن عسكري.

وقد أعاد الجيش تسميه الجزيرة في 1915 باسم "فرع المحيط الهادي ، الثكنات التاديبيه الامريكيه"-وهو سجن للجنود الذين يخضعون للعقاب وأعاده التدريب. وشيد سجناء الجيش معظم المباني في الجزيرة. سيكون هذا هو الدور العسكري النهائي للجزيرة حتى غادر آخر الجنود في 1933.

Skip to main content

Military Fortress

How It All Began

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

Ticket Quantity

Fortress History

The Largest American Fort During The Civil War

On August 5, 1775, Spanish Lt. Juan Manuel de Ayala sailed his ship into San Francisco Bay and spent several weeks charting the harbor. During his surveys he described a rocky, barren Island and named it “La Isla de Los Alcatraces” (Island of the Sea Birds). Historians debate which Island Ayala actually sited, but the name eventually was given to the 22 acre rock today called Alcatraz.

California became a possession of the United States on February 2, 1848 in a treaty with Mexico that ended the Mexican War. A week earlier, on January 24th, gold had been discovered in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Within three years, the population of San Francisco would explode from around 500 to more than 35,000 as gold seekers poured into California.

first lighthouse on Alcatraz Island | Alcatraz as a Military Prison
Alcatraz as a Military Prison

By 1850 the Gold Rush was at its height, and California was admitted as the thirtieth state in the Union. Alcatraz and several other bay Islands were reserved “for public purposes” by presidential order on November 6, 1850.

Hundreds of ships, headed for San Francisco during the Gold Rush, wrecked along the dangerous California coastline. The first lighthouse on the West Coast of the United States was built on Alcatraz to guide ships safely into San Francisco Bay. The lighthouse went into service on June 1, 1854.

The U.S. Army, realizing San Francisco Bay was vulnerable to enemy attack, fortified the harbor entrance with strategic batteries including a fort on Alcatraz Island. The fort was completed in December 1859. During the American Civil War (1861–1865) Alcatraz became the largest American fort west of the Mississippi River.

The army began sending soldier-convicts to the Alcatraz fort in early 1860. Over the next forty years, the Island gradually became obsolete as a fortification and more important as a prison. The U.S. Army removed the fort’s guns and in 1907 formally designated Alcatraz as a Military Prison.

The army renamed the Island in 1915 as “Pacific Branch, U.S. Disciplinary Barracks”—a prison for soldiers undergoing punishment and retraining. Army prisoners built most of the buildings on the Island. This would be the final military role for the Island until the last soldiers departed in 1933.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest