印度占领运动

美洲印第安人回归该岛
1969年11月,许多部落的美洲印第安人返回该岛。 Alcatraz 自从监狱局关闭监狱以来,已经休眠了六年。没有人提出一个可行的计划,重用 Alcatraz ,因此美国印第安人活动家在感恩节前不久占领了该岛,并声称该岛为印度土地。这是一次国际上公开的政治抗议,旨在关注美国印第安人的困境。

印度团结是印第安人运动的重点,并计划建立一个美国印第安人文化中心 Alcatraz .最鼓舞人心的占领者之一是理查德·奥克斯,一个年轻的莫霍克学生,被描述为英俊、有魅力和才华横溢的主使者。媒体经常寻找他,并确定奥克斯作为领导人,酋长,或市长 Alcatraz .悲剧发生在1970年初,当时他年幼的继女伊冯娜在岛上坠落身亡。理查德·奥克斯离开后不久,占领开始失去势头。

十八个月来,美国印第安人和他们的家人住在岛上。然而,公众对占领的兴趣减弱,岛上居民的秩序开始恶化。1971年6月,联邦警长将剩余的占领者从岛上撤走。

的 Alcatraz 占领现在被认为是美国印第安人历史上的一个里程碑。许多印度人现在认为扣押 Alcatraz 成为美国印第安人文化、传统、身份和精神的重新觉醒,成为一个新的开始。

每年,所有部落的印第安人都回到 Alcatraz Island 在哥伦布日和感恩节为土著人民举行日出仪式和纪念占领。

有关印度占领的更详细信息 Alcatraz 访问NPS 历史记录。

Skip to main content

Indian Occupation

The Political Movement

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

Ticket Quantity

The Indian Occupation Movement

The Return Of The American Indians To The Island

American Indians of many tribes returned to the Island in November 1969. Alcatraz had been dormant for six years since the Bureau of Prisons closed the penitentiary. No one had come forward with a feasible plan for reusing Alcatraz, so American Indian activists seized the Island shortly before Thanksgiving and claimed it as Indian Land. This was an internationally-publicized political protest to focus attention on the plight of American Indians.

Indian unity was a key focus of the Indian movement, and there were plans to establish an American Indian cultural center on Alcatraz. One of the most inspirational occupiers was Richard Oakes, a young Mohawk student described as handsome, charismatic, and a talented orator. The media often sought him out and identified Oakes as the leader, the Chief, or the mayor of Alcatraz. Tragedy struck in early 1970 when his young step-daughter Yvonne was killed in a fall on the Island. Richard Oakes left shortly after and the Occupation began to lose momentum.

For eighteen months, American Indians and their families lived on the Island. However, public interest in the occupation waned, and order among those living on the Island began to deteriorate. Federal marshals removed the remaining occupiers from the Island in June 1971.

The Alcatraz Occupation is now recognized as a milestone in American Indian history. Many Indian people now consider the seizure of Alcatraz to have been a new beginning, a reawakening of American Indian culture, traditions, identity and spirituality.

Each year, Indians of all tribes return to Alcatraz Island on Columbus Day and Thanksgiving Day to hold a Sunrise Ceremony for Indigenous Peoples and to commemorate the Occupation.

For more detailed information on the Indian Occupation of Alcatraz visit NPS history.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest