الصخرة: سجن فيديرالية

الكشف عن القصص في أول سجن الأمن الأقصى في أميركا
ونقل الجيش Alcatraz إلى المكتب المدني للسجون في 1934. وسرعان ما حول ميزان المدفوعات السجن العسكري القديم إلى إصلاحيه مدنيه أمنيه قصوى. Alcatraz سيصبح قريبا السجن الاتحادية الأكثر شهره في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة.

Alcatraz تم تصميمه ليكون أول سجن للولايات المتحدة ، وهو الحد الأدنى من الامتيازات الامنيه ، والذي يشار اليه اليوم باسم مؤسسه "الحد الأقصى للغاية". من 1934 إلى 1963 Alcatraz يضم بعض المجرمين الأكثر شهره في أميركا ، والفنانين الهروب ، وقاده العصابات وصانعي المتاعب العامة. وقد احتجزوا في ظل الظروف الأكثر أمنا والأكثر صرامة ، في بيئة مقاومه للهروب تقريبا علي جزيرة صخرية في وسط خليج سان فرانسيسكو. إلى الرجال الذين أرسلوا إلى هناك Alcatraz كانت نهاية الخط.

Alcatraz يسمي أحيانا "السجن داخل نظام السجون" ، لان السجناء الوحيدين المرسلين إلى هناك قد نقلوا من سجون اتحاديه أخرى. ولا يمكن للمحاكم ان تصدر حكما علي اي شخص Alcatraz . وبدلا من ذلك ، كانت "الصخرة" هي المكان الذي أرسل فيه ميزان المدفوعات أكثر السجناء إزعاجا إلى ان تقرر اعادتهم بأمان إلى مؤسسه أمنيه ادني. وكان متوسط الاقامه خمس سنوات.

اثناء الفترة السجن فيديرالية يشغل, 36 سجينات كان متورطة في 14 منفصلة فرار محاولات. والقي القبض علي ثلاثه وعشرين رجلا ، وقتل سته منهم بالرصاص ، وغرق اثنان. واختفي خمسه مدانين ولم يروا مره أخرى ، ولكن الاحتمالات الساحقة هي انهم غرقوا وان أجسادهم لم تسترد أبدا.

في وقت مبكر 1963 ، أمر النائب العام روبرت كينيدي إغلاق Alcatraz السجون مستشهده بزيادة تكاليف الصيانة والتشغيل. وتمت أزاله آخر المدانين من الجزيرة في 21 مارس 1963. وعندما أغلقت الجزيرة ، استعيض عنها بسجن اتحادي جديد للأمن الأقصى في ماريون ، إلينوي.

اليوم, الحكومة "فائقه [ماكس]" حددت مؤسسه في فلورنسا, كولورادو. ولقبها غير الرسمي هو " Alcatraz من جبال روكي ".

لمزيد من المعلومات حول سجن الولايات المتحدة على Alcatraz الذهاب إلى الموقع الرسمي للمكتب السجون في BOP Alcatraz التاريخ.

Skip to main content

Federal Penitentiary

From Military Prison To Penitentiary

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

The Rock: A Federal Penitentiary

Uncover The Stories At America’s First Maximum Security Prison

The army transferred Alcatraz to the civilian Bureau of Prisons (BOP) in 1934. The BOP quickly converted the aging military prison into a maximum-security, state-of-the-art civilian penitentiary. Alcatraz would shortly become the most famous federal prison in United States history.

Alcatraz was designed to serve as America’s first maximum-security, minimum-privilege penitentiary, what is today referred to as a “super max” institution. From 1934 to 1963, Alcatraz housed some of America’s most notorious offenders, escape artists, gang leaders and general trouble makers. They were held under the most secure and regimented conditions, in the virtually escape-proof environment on a rocky Island in the middle of the San Francisco Bay. To the men sent there, Alcatraz was the end of the line.

Alcatraz was sometimes called the “prison within the prison system”, since the only inmates sent there were transferred from other federal prisons. Courts could not sentence anyone to Alcatraz. Instead, “The Rock” was where the BOP sent its most troublesome prisoners until it was decided they could be safely returned to a lower-security institution. An average stay was five years.

During the period the Federal penitentiary operated, 36 prisoners were involved in 14 separate escape attempts. Twenty-three men were caught, six were shot and killed, and two drowned. Five convicts disappeared and were never seen again, but the overwhelming odds are that they drowned and that their bodies were never recovered.

In early 1963, Attorney General Robert Kennedy ordered the closing of Alcatraz Penitentiary citing increasing maintenance and operational costs. The last convicts were removed from the Island on March 21, 1963. When the Island closed, it was replaced by a new maximum-security federal prison in Marion, Illinois.

Today, the government’s “super max” institution is located at Florence, Colorado. Its unofficial nickname is “Alcatraz of the Rockies.”

For more information on U.S. Penitentiary on Alcatraz go to the official Bureau of Prisons website at BOP Alcatraz history.

prison guard with gun alcatraz federal penitentiary
maximum security guard
twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest