岩石:联邦监狱

揭开美国第一最高安全监狱的故事
军队转移 Alcatraz 1934年,平民监狱局。BOP迅速将老化的军事监狱改造成安全万分、最先进的平民监狱。 Alcatraz 将很快成为美国历史上最著名的联邦监狱。

Alcatraz 被设计成美国第一个最高安全、最低特权的监狱,今天被称为"超级最高"机构。从1934年到1963年 Alcatraz 关押了一些美国最臭名昭著的罪犯,逃跑的艺术家,帮派头目和一般麻烦制造者。他们被关押在最安全和有条不紊的条件下,在旧金山湾中部的一个岩石岛上几乎防潜的环境。给被派到那里的人 Alcatraz 是行的末尾。

Alcatraz 有时被称为"监狱系统内的监狱",因为在那里被派遣的唯一囚犯是从其他联邦监狱转来的。法院不能判处任何人 Alcatraz .相反,"岩石"是BOP派出其最麻烦的囚犯,直到它决定,他们可以安全地返回到一个低安全的机构。平均停留时间为五年。

在联邦监狱运作期间,有36名囚犯参与了14次单独的越狱企图。23人被抓获,6人被枪杀,2人溺水身亡。五名罪犯失踪,再也见不到,但最大的机会是,他们淹死,他们的尸体从未被找到。

1963年初,司法部长罗伯特·肯尼迪下令关闭 Alcatraz 监狱以增加的维护和运营成本为由。最后一名罪犯于1963年3月21日被逐出该岛。当该岛关闭时,它被伊利诺斯州马里恩市一座新的最高戒备的联邦监狱所取代。

如今,政府的"超级最高"机构位于科罗拉多州的佛罗伦萨。其非官方的昵称是" Alcatraz 落基山脉。

欲了解更多关于美国监狱的信息,请点击以下链接。 Alcatraz转到BOP历史上的监狱局官方网站。

Skip to main content

Federal Penitentiary

From Military Prison To Penitentiary

Choose a Tour Date

Ticket Quantity

The Rock: A Federal Penitentiary

Uncover The Stories At America’s First Maximum Security Prison

The army transferred Alcatraz to the civilian Bureau of Prisons (BOP) in 1934. The BOP quickly converted the aging military prison into a maximum-security, state-of-the-art civilian penitentiary. Alcatraz would shortly become the most famous federal prison in United States history.

Alcatraz was designed to serve as America’s first maximum-security, minimum-privilege penitentiary, what is today referred to as a “super max” institution. From 1934 to 1963, Alcatraz housed some of America’s most notorious offenders, escape artists, gang leaders and general trouble makers. They were held under the most secure and regimented conditions, in the virtually escape-proof environment on a rocky Island in the middle of the San Francisco Bay. To the men sent there, Alcatraz was the end of the line.

Alcatraz was sometimes called the “prison within the prison system”, since the only inmates sent there were transferred from other federal prisons. Courts could not sentence anyone to Alcatraz. Instead, “The Rock” was where the BOP sent its most troublesome prisoners until it was decided they could be safely returned to a lower-security institution. An average stay was five years.

During the period the Federal penitentiary operated, 36 prisoners were involved in 14 separate escape attempts. Twenty-three men were caught, six were shot and killed, and two drowned. Five convicts disappeared and were never seen again, but the overwhelming odds are that they drowned and that their bodies were never recovered.

In early 1963, Attorney General Robert Kennedy ordered the closing of Alcatraz Penitentiary citing increasing maintenance and operational costs. The last convicts were removed from the Island on March 21, 1963. When the Island closed, it was replaced by a new maximum-security federal prison in Marion, Illinois.

Today, the government’s “super max” institution is located at Florence, Colorado. Its unofficial nickname is “Alcatraz of the Rockies.”

For more information on U.S. Penitentiary on Alcatraz go to the official Bureau of Prisons website at BOP Alcatraz history.

prison guard with gun alcatraz federal penitentiary
maximum security guard
twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest